Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Polygraph

Polygraph Licensing Advisory Committee

For a list of the Committee members, please send an email to rebecca.hannon@state.or.us 
 
 Meetings Dates
 
 
January 15, 2014
Time: 9:00 a.m.
 
May 14, 2014
Time: 9:00 a.m.
 
September 10, 2014
Time: 9:00 a.m.

Back to Top

Interested in Becoming A Polygraph Examiner?

1. How can I become a polygraph examiner in Oregon?

  • Read and familiarize yourself with the recommended material in the Trainee Study Guide.
  • Successfully complete a Department-approved polygraph school. There is a list of approved schools on American Polygraph Association (APA) website at http://www.polygraph.org/section/training/apa-accredited-polygraph-schools 
  • Have your fingerprints taken at a local law enforcement agency.
  • Send a completed F-203 Application for Polygraph Examiner License, your fingerprint cards, and the required fees to DPSST.
  • Read the Oregon Administrative Rules governing Polygraph. OAR 259-020.
   
2.  What is does it mean to be a Trainee? 
  • See the Intern FAQ’s Sheet for more information regarding the Intern process.  
3. What are the fees?
  • $35 for the Intern License (yearly renewal required)
  • $44.50 for the Fingerprint fees
  • $50 for the General License (yearly renewal required)
  • $50 for General Examiner’s Written Exam (each time you test)
4. How long does it take to process my Intern application?
  • Allow 2-3 weeks for OSP to process your fingerprints.
  • Allow 4-5 weeks to process your entire application and fingerprints.
5. When can I start conducting polygraph exams?
  • After your intern license has been issued.
  • You must be licensed through the Department before you may conduct any exams.
6. What is involved in the Internship?
  • Conduct a minimum number of exams in 2 years.
  • Obtain critique reviews by multiple general examiners.
  • See the Intern FAQ’s Sheet for more detail.
7. What do I need to do to obtain a General License?
  • Complete all requirements of an internship.
  • Successfully pass a written exam.
  • Meet with the Polygraph Licensing Advisory Committee for an oral interview.
  • Apply for a General License and pay licensing fee.
8. What if I already have a general license from another state?
  • Contact Rebecca Hannon at 503-378-2328.
 
 
  ________________________________________________________________________________
 
 
If you have questions, or need additional information, please contact
 
 
Rebecca Hannon at 503-378-2328.
 
 
 
Back to Top

Polygraph Intern - General License Testing Dates

 
Back to Top

Intern FAQ's

POLYGRAPH INTERN FAQ SHEET     
 
1.      WHEN DOES MY INTERN TRAINEE LICENSE EXPIRE?
  •   General and Trainee Polygraph Licenses expire one year after being issued and must    be renewed annually.  However, Interns are allowed two years to complete 200 exams.
 
2.      HOW MANY EXAMINATIONS DO I NEED TO CONDUCT BEFORE I CAN
         TEST FOR MY GENERAL LICENSE?
 
  • You must complete 200 examinations before you can test for the polygraph general examiner license.  
3.      WHAT IF I CAN’T COMPLETE 200 EXAMS IN TWO YEARS?
 
  • OAR 259-020-0010(2)(e) allows for an extension of time to complete the 200 exams, if the applicant provides “just cause.”   The request for an extension must be made in writing and the applicant must appear before the Polygraph Licensing Advisory Committee.    
4.      WHAT HAPPENS IF I FAIL THE TEST?
 
  • Requirements may be prescribed if you fail the test on your first or second attempts.  If you fail the test a third time, your trainee license will be suspended.  You may submit a new application only after retaking and successfully completing a polygraph examiner’s course approved by the Department. 
 
5.      HOW MANY CRITIQUES ARE NECESSARY?
 
  • OAR 259-020-0010(2) requires submitting 20 examinations of the first 200 conducted.  The following format is mandatory:  
  • Submit 5 exams out of the first 20 conducted                   (i.e., Test #1-#20)
  • Submit 5 exams out of the second 30 conducted              (i.e., Test #21-#50)
  • Submit 5 exams out of the third 50 conducted                  (i.e., Test #51-#100)
  • Submit 5 exams out of the last 100 conducted                  (i.e., Test #101-#200)
 
6.      WHEN ARE CRITIQUES DUE?  
  • The original critiques MUST be completed on DPSST Form F203-a and MUST be completed within 30 days of each series listed above.  One copy should be retained by the reviewer and one by the trainee.
 
7.      WHEN SHOULD I RENEW MY LICENSE?  
  • At least 4-6 weeks prior to the expiration date to allow time to process the application and make up any deficiencies.  Allowing additional time ensures there are no lapses in your license.
 
8.      HOW MUCH ARE RENEWAL FEES?  
  • The intern renew fee is $35 annually.
9.      DO I NEED TO ATTEND TRAINING?  
  • Yes.  You are required to complete 30 hours of polygraph specific training during each two-year period.  The two-year period begins with the issuance of your trainee license.

10.    WHAT HAPPENS IF I DON'T ATTEND TRAINING OR FORGET TO   SUBMIT MY TRAINING? 

  •   When your license expires, you will not be re-licensed until you submit proof of training.
11.    WHAT IF MY LICENSE EXPIRES?  
  • You are prohibited from conducting polygraphs until you are re-licensed.
12.    IS THERE ANY PENALTY FOR VIOLATING THE RULES?
  • Yes.  Your license may be suspended, revoked or the Department may refuse to issue a new license. Additionally, OAR 259-020-0050 states: Violation of any provision of the Act or of any rule adopted thereunder is a Class A Misdemeanor.
13.    WHAT IF SOMEONE COMPLAINS ABOUT ME?
  • The Polygraph Licensing Advisory Committee will review and investigate all complaints and then make a recommendation to the Director on all allegations. 
14.    DO I HAVE TO RETAIN ANY OTHER RECORDS?
  • Yes.  You must keep a numerical log or ledger (beginning with #1) of the examinations you conduct.  You must provide a brief record of the name of the person examined, date, time, type of examination and results, and any other information you consider pertinent.  You must also keep folders containing all available test information, including notes, questions, charts, reports and correspondence.
15.    HOW LONG DO I HAVE TO KEEP THESE RECORDS?
  • All records must be retained for a minimum of five (5) years, unless State Archives Records Retention Schedule requires longer maintenance.
 
16.    WHERE CAN I FIND THE RULES GOVERNING MY LICENSE
 
 
 
 
 
 
Back to Top

Polygraph Examiners in Oregon

Back to Top